PARBICA 16 held in Auckland, New Zealand, 7-10 September 2015

29 Sep 2015

PARBICA's Sixteenth Biennial Conference was held in Auckland earlier this month. With representatives from 15 countries, a total of 56 PARBICA delegates joined with participants attending the Archives and Records Association of New Zealand (ARANZ) 2015 Conference in a programme of workshops, conference sessions and networking events. By all accounts, delegates had an extremely thought-provoking and enjoyable time with many new connections made and a multitude of ideas to explore further on returning home. PARBICA would like to take this opportunity to extend our warm thanks to ARANZ for sharing in such a wonderful event.

The General Conference, PARBICA's official governance meeting, was held on Thursday 10th September at the Auckland Council Chambers. Activities of the PARBICA Bureau were delivered to members via reports from the President, Secretary-General and Treasurer. Members were also invited to present on current developments in their own organisations, providing a great snapshot of archival and information management activities across the Pacific. The adoption of a new Constitution for PARBICA paves the way for the continued growth of the Organisation.

PARBICA is excited to announce its newly elected Bureau for 2015 – 2017:
President - Mr Opeta Alefaio (Fiji)
Vice-President - Mrs Amela Silipa (Samoa)
Secretary-General – Ms Talei Masters represented by Ms Anna Monson (New Zealand)
Treasurer – Ms Helen Walker (Australia)
Members – Mrs Julian Chonigolo (Solomon Islands), Mr Augustine Tevimule (Vanuatu)
and Mr Noa Petueli Tapumanai (Tuvalu)

Documents, presentations and photos from the Conference will be posted to our social media sites in the coming weeks.

To all our members, we look forward to the next two years, to being engaged, confident and supportive of each other as we continue to build on the management and care of archival records around our Pacific home. Kia ū.

PARBICA's newly elected Bureau

From left: Anna Monson, Julian Chonigolo, Noa Petueli Tapumanai, Augustine Tevimule, Amela Silipa, Helen Walker, Opeta Alefaio